2014 Fitness Goals

Last year at this time I definitely weighed around 115. And I worked out 5-6 times a week every single week. 30-60 minutes of cardio a day. But strictly cardio and very very little weight lifting.

And I didn’t see any results except for bigger biceps.

And then I took 2 weeks off from working out to travel for Christmas / also was sick at the same time. And I gained 6 lbs.

And now I’m determined to get back to where I was and better. I don’t care about the number on the scale. I just want to tone up and lose some fat of course.

But this year I’m doing things differently. I’m going to focus on weight lifting.

Since cardio did absolutely nothing for me last year I am hoping to see more results this year through weight lifting. Apparently having more muscle burns more fat even when you’re at rest. So I’m planning on doing 1/3 cardio and 2/3 of weight training about 4-5 days a week.

Of course I know I should really change my eating to see the best results. And I try…every morning/most lunches consist of a fruit smoothie, I drink almond milk, eat natural peanut butter, smaller portions, drink my weight in water, take my vitamins on most days…etc. But I just don’t want to go much further than that with the clean eating. I like food and I don’t want to give things up.

I was, however, inspired by this salad Whole Foods Market made on Eye Opener last week and so I’ve been pinning a lot of recipes with quinoa and hope to be able to incorporate that into my weekly meals a bit better. The boyfriend was totally not impressed though and wasn’t a fan. So looks like I’ll be going it alone with the quinoa.

It’s rough getting in a workout after working 11 hour days. But I’m doing what I can.

2 thoughts on “2014 Fitness Goals

  1. Don’t mind me, I’m just over here applauding your super realistic confession that you shouldn’t go overboard with clean eating if you don’t want to! Good luck girl.

Leave a Reply

