HIIT & Tabata Training

The majority of my workouts consist of HIIT workouts these days. HIIT is High-Intensity Interval Training that alternates between intense bursts of activity and fixed periods of less intense activity. HIIT pushes your aerobic threshold and has made me a faster runner for sure.

Benefits of HIIT workouts:

  • Raises metabolism and burns fat throughout the day
  • It’s fast! I can do 30 minutes instead of a 60 minute steady state workout
  • It’s efficient!

Here are some of my favorite HIIT workouts:

interval_workout_ap-398085

photo

AlexInPhilly Workout

Newly incorporated into my workouts is something similar to HIIT training, Tabata training. Tabata training is where you go all out for 20 seconds with 10 seconds of rest time, repeat 8 times.

I have been doing this on the treadmill at 10mph and it really kicks my butt. I can definitely feel it in my hamstrings the next day.

If you remember I also recently did this type of workout in the pool. It is so versatile because you can do it with any exercise – no gym or equipment needed!

I use the tabata timer on my iphone, or simply the treadmill timer when I do these workouts, but you can also use this web version.

And always remember to have your protein shake post workout! Iced pumpkin latte protein shake for me today!

Linkups

Workout Wednesday / Weigh In Wednesday

2 thoughts on “HIIT & Tabata Training

  1. I really want to look more into HIIT training. I have heard a lot of people trying it.
    Thanks for the encouragement to try it & linking up

Leave a Reply

