Apps For Saving Money

Today I wanted to talk about some of my favorite iPhone apps for saving money. These are some great tools to get cold hard cash for the things that you buy! They are always handy to have and check often because the deals and products are always changing.

Saving Star works by utilizing your store loyalty cards. You input your card numbers and then select the coupons you like and add them to your card. Instead of the money coming off at the register it goes into your Saving Star account. Once you earn at least $5 you can redeem the cash through PayPal, gift cards or a bank deposit. I recently did the deal below where I spent $20 on Charmin, Mr. Clean and Febreze products and then received $5 which I sent to my PayPal account. I don’t go out of my way to buy any of the items, I was simply buying toilet paper! I had forgotten I had even accepted this specific deal until I received an e-mail telling me I needed to spend 2.01 more to complete it!

Ibotta works very similarly to Saving Star. They also have a rotation of products. In order to recieve the money from them you have to complete the tasks such as answering a poll question, learning a fact about the product, sharing it on Facebook, ect. Each product is worth a different amount of money ranging from .50 to $1.50. Once you have gone to the store and purchased a specific item, you upload your receipt and scan the product bar code. Then you get real money in your Ibotta account that you can send to a PayPal account or donate to any school in America. The Clear shampoo will turn into a money maker with next week’s deal at CVS (magic coupon machine spitting out $4.99 off coupons – making it free!)

For Endorse all you have to do is browse the offers of the week and then scan your receipt once you’ve purchased an item. You’ll earn cash back and points redeemable by PayPal or a charitable donation made in your name.  Endorse is cool because a lot of time they have offers for “any brand of toilet paper” or “any brand of coffee” which makes it a lot easier to get cash back for the things you normally buy.  And a lot of times you can upgrade your offers to 50% or even 100% cash back, just by sharing the deal on Facebook.  So last week my boyfriend’s $3 cup of coffee became $3 in my Endorse account.  SWEET!

If you have any questions about any of these apps – or if you want to give me all of your receipts – let me know in the comments!  Happy Shopping!

ALEX

Leave a Reply

